Burn / Part 4

The young man felt his mentor’s presence well before he saw it. It emanated from the older man. They could feel each other.

The young man killed the fire. He moved his hand and the entire forest went out, but still hot and smoldering.

100 yards in front of him, the older man stood still. He was wrapped in a plain, dark green cloak that matched the young mans – a symbol of their mutual vows to protect and use their gifts for good.

“Why are you doing this?” the mentor called.

“The same reason you took me from my family,” the young man replied. “Because I can.”

The mentor shook his head. “Valen, you don’t understand. I had to.”

Valen laughed mirthlessly. “No. But you’re about to, Zurian.” He curled his hand by his side and a fireball appeared. “I’ve had enough of you controlling me.”

Valen hurled it at his teacher. Zurian raised a barrier and the magic exploded against it. Valen held his breath as he waited to see the effects of his attack. Slowly, the smoke settled between them.

“You’re going to regret this, boy,” the old man said, unharmed. “My turn.”

The sky turned dark and lightning crackled above.

A bolt shot down and hit the young man.

Leave a comment